Charlas, and Other Things

Well, I suppose it’s time for a small update on my life in Honduras. Let’s see… in my last post, I talked about reaching the halfway point of my trip and also about going to Costa Rica. Well, now I have two months left before I go home, and I have to say, I’m really looking forward to being back. Not that I’m having a bad time; in fact, so far this second half of the trip has been a lot better than the first half. I’ve been able to get out more and do more work, see more places, and I’ve been doing a lot of studying, thinking, praying, introspecting, and have learned a lot. A lot of things inside me are changing and it’s pretty amazing when you start seeing almost daily progress on certain issues that have been with you for a long time. But, I’m ready to be home. Ready to see my family again, and my friends; ready to be able to talk to people without stumbling over my extremely limited Spanish vocabulary; ready to have good pizza and good hamburgers and Indian food and diverse ethnic cuisines again; just ready to be back and start moving on with my life again. But I still have two months left, and plenty more mental/spiritual/emotional progress to be made, as well as more work to do. I’m looking forward to that, but I will also be glad to be home.

 

So, anyway, the main thing that I’ve  been doing lately, as far as mission work goes, is Charlas Biblias–Bible Talks.  I have been joining Rick and Amanda (the same people I went to Costa Rica and Copán with) to go to a couple of different high schools and give talks to the students about various aspects of Christianity and the Bible. It’s really been interesting, to see the high schools and the students, as well as to be part of sharing the Gospel with them. I also find it quite refreshing to be in a country where we’re even allowed to do that; if Christians in the US tried such a thing there would be an outrage. It’s rather silly, because isn’t school supposed to be about learning? Shouldn’t anyone have the right to present their beliefs to students, so the students can make an informed decision about their own? At any rate, the whole experience has been rather cool. It was interesting also to observe the differences between the students: in the one school, which Rick has been doing Charlas at for a long time, the students are more friendly and familiar, but also less attentive and participatory; while at the other school, which none of us had been to before, they were almost uniformly intent on what we were saying, and we had great results with those students. These Charlas are something that I will likely continue doing for the rest of my time here, so I’m looking forward to seeing what else happens as we advance.

 

What else is new? Yesterday I accompanied my uncle as he went to present a lesson to a church in one of the rougher parts of town, way up on the hill where all the roads are steep. I helped him to carry things and set them up, but unfortunately I couldn’t understand much of the lesson, since it was all in Spanish. Still, it was interesting; I got to see a part of the town I’ve never been in before and meet a few people. This city becomes gilded in the evening, and as ugly as some parts of it can be during the daytime, it’s all beautiful as the sun is setting. Lately I’m seeing more and more of the beauty of life and the world. It seems that the more I see of the world, the more in love with it I fall. It is a stunning creation, and nothing more stunning than the people who inhabit it.

 

At the end of the month I’ll be going up to the Caribbean coast again with Rick and Amanda, for Amanda’s debriefing at the end of her internship. That should be cool, especially as we’ll be spending at least one day with an island all to ourselves! I am blessed to be able to visit the ocean not once or twice, but three times while on this trip. This wasn’t something I expected, and I am grateful. I don’t think I could ever get tired of the ocean.

 

Well, I don’t think I have anything else to say at the moment. May your days bring you joy!

~ Jared

Leave a Reply

