In Which I Ramble About NaNoWriMo

It is November! National Novel Writing Month! Also, No Shave November, which correlates because there is less time for shaving when you have to write so much. Anyway, this is my third time doing NaNoWriMo. The first year went beautifully. I wrote a story that was based off the Cinderella fairy tail, which had barely been planned, and it just took off during NaNo and I finished easily. That was exhilarating, writing that story. The second year didn’t go so well. I attempted to do the same thing again, an unplanned, spur-of-the-moment story, and it tanked spectacularly. I got the 50,000 word goal, but only because the entire second half of those words was nothing but short stories, anecdotes, and historical essays about the story world I had been attempting to write a novel in. This year is a bit different because I’m not writing a new novel. I was already at least halfway through a story when November came around, and I didn’t want to put it aside for a month to write something else. So I decided to use November to finish that story, and if I had leftover words after it was done, I would fill out the rest of my word goal with short stories, like I did last year.

 

So far it’s going reasonably well. I’m not getting in amazing, ultra high volume writing sessions, but I have so far been able to make my word goal every day and not had too much trouble deciding what happens next. Picking up in the middle of a novel for NaNo is kind of a different experience. The characters and story are already established, and the real difficulty is just in continuing to plod ahead with the novel. I didn’t have one bit of the usual start of NaNo excitement, because the story-starting excitement had long since faded for this novel. But on the other hand, I didn’t have all the uncertainties that go with a new beginning. This story is familiar and comfortable to work with, which makes it easier in some ways despite being lacking in the excitement. I suppose that could be kind of a metaphor for relationships, now that I think of it. Novels are like people in a lot of ways, after all. Very ornery creatures.

 

At any rate, thus far NaNoWriMo is going well. Almost a third of the way through, and no major hiccups yet.

 

~ Jared

3 thoughts on “In Which I Ramble About NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

