Well…

…I was going to write a blog post about cynicism, detailing the reasons behind my recent decision to wipe out all vestiges of cynical thinking and feeling in myself, but then I realized I’d have to write a novel to properly explain it. Yep. Always interesting when that happens. But at least I’m following in the footsteps of greatness, because G.K. Chesterton would sometimes do the same thing if someone asked him a question he didn’t feel he could answer concisely. So now I shall be pondering ways to fit this theme into the next story I write… which could actually fit quite well with it, considering what it’s about.

At any rate, hello again, cyberpeople. I know this isn’t much of a post considering how long it’s been since my last one.

My excuse is that in the past few months, I’ve been living on my own for the first time in my life. I got a job, which has unexpectedly resulted in my being exposed to a multitude of stupid pop songs and experiencing, for the first time, the supreme irritation of having bad songs stuck in my head. This also means that most of my free time has been spent working on more important writing projects, doing art, hanging out with friends, or playing video games which may or may not be way too addicting (Skyrim, anyone?). I’m not going to apologize for huge spaces between blog posts anymore. If you have a complaint, I can assure you that the angler fish is quite hungry.

So this post was meant to be rather meaningful, but like I said, I realized I’d have to write a novel. So now it’s basically useless. I’m going to make onigiri and miso soup this week… maybe I’ll post about that next time and add to the randomness. Talk about cooking a bit. I’m finding that I rather enjoy cooking. It’s satisfying and fun. I suppose I couldn’t have avoided learning to cook well, considering the kind of food I like to eat. I’m not one to live off ramen, let’s just say that.

Also, G.K. Chesterton is amazing. Let’s have some quotes to finish this up.

“Literature is a luxury; fiction is a necessity.”

“There are no uninteresting things, only uninterested people.”

“There are two ways to get enough. One is to continue to accumulate more and more. The other is to desire less.”

“If there were no God, there would be no atheists.”

“An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.”

“The world will never starve for want of wonders, but for want of wonder.”

I need to read me some more G.K. Chesterton.

Be at peace and don’t forget to wonder.

~ Jared

9 thoughts on “Well…

  1. Yes, you DO need to read more G. K. Chesterton, as do I! Have you read Manalive, yet? One of my favorites.

    Gonna make onigiri? Have you ever made that before? ‘S quite fun to make. ^_^

    Ah, the old stupid-songs-stuck-in-your-head…. Yup…. I know it well.

    1. I have not read it yet. All I’ve read by him is Orthodoxy, which is awesome. I just read so slowly these days because I’m not making much time for books, I haven’t had a chance to get to more of his works. :(

      I’ve never made it before, so it should be interesting. :D Amber is going to show me how to do it.

      I haven’t had to deal with stupid songs in my head much up til now, because I only ever listen to music I like. Unfortunately you can’t get away from bad music in a world that seems to think every business must blast background music at all times… -_-

  2. Hey, yuu. Good to hear you’re still alive. *hums Portal song to self* Yes, Skyrim is fairly addicting, although the only time I played it, all I did was chase butterflies and pick wildflowers and steal all the mead. And make stew. S’fun to make stew.

Leave a Reply

