Well, I’ve Done It

…I really did manage to finish my novel this week! I ended up writing  25,475 words over the course of seven days. It was pretty intense. Not as intense as 3 Day Novel (really, how many things could possibly be that intense?), but more intense than NaNoWriMo. Most of my writing was actually done yesterday–got in a whole 7,500 words that day. After staying up ’til 2 in the morning the night before. Yeah, it was a pretty exhausting day.

Anyways, the novel is finished and now I am happy. What can I say? It was one of the hardest novels I’ve ever written, and I’m not even sure why. I’ve only written one story that was actually harder, and one other that gave it a run for its money. Maybe the problem was that I didn’t really have much of a point for the story, and thus wasn’t sure what to aim it towards. Maybe my problem was that one particular character fought me every step of the way, and it was only in the last few chapters that she finally began to work with me instead of against me. It’s really hard to say, because I was pretty excited about this story when I started it. It’s set in a world I like and have already written a story in; I had a couple good character concepts I was eager to work with; the first two chapters flowed beautifully from my hand. But for whatever the reason, it ended up feeling monstrously slow and reluctant to come out. I almost gave up several times, but am happy to report that, with the help of encouraging beta readers, I have been able to push through and finish the rough draft. Now for the editing….

In other news, I’ve decided my next novel should have a male main character. I’m tired of writing girls all the time. Sorry, ladies. :P

~ Jared

8 thoughts on “Well, I’ve Done It

      1. I have a few books with male MCs. I just haven’t written any recently, or at least, none where he didn’t share the main character-ship with at least one girl.

Leave a Reply

