3 Day Novel

So, this is the second year in a row that I’ve done 3 Day Novel (link to the official website here: http://www.3daynovel.com/). I’ve actually never done it officially, because I don’t want to pay the $50 entrance fee, but that doesn’t really matter. At any rate, why do I do someone so crazy as to attempt to write an entire novel in three days?

‘Cause it’s awesome, that’s why. I think every fiction writer should attempt it at some point in their lives. There is absolutely nothing like writing a novel in three days. It’s stressful, tiring, very hard–and fun. I’m doing it next year, for sure. In fact, I’ll probably do it every year.

Of course, the novel I just wrote needs quite a lot of editing. I’ve decided it’s only going to be the first volume in a series, because there was far more to the story than I was able to tell in the space I had. It’s the cornerstone of a story more than a complete story in and of itself. That said, I do have a finished story arc. Final word count: 33,343. It was epic.

 

~ Jared

 

Leave a Reply

